Innovation & Studies

Doctor but not researcher

Image4.png

This research aims to identify, within the framework of doctoral training followed by a second research experience, which skills acquired are implemented when the doctor then occupies a professional activity far removed from research.

A qualitative exploratory approach through life stories with ten doctors exercising a professional activity outside the professions and the research sector has made it possible to highlight the scientific and transversal skills acquired and still mobilized today as well as the uses which are made .

 

It emerges that doctors removed from research maintain a position of researcher by mobilizing skills related to research activities, but that these same skills are diverted from their primary purpose (which is research). This strategy, which is most often involuntary, provides doctors who are not researchers with significant added value within their organization.

Publishing:

Doctor but not researcher: what uses and representations of scientific and transversal skills?

Elodie Chevalier, Bathélémy Durette, Amandine Bugnicourt (2016) in TransFormations-Research in adult education and training.

contact@adoc-tm.com   |   +33 1 44 88 57 79  | 21 rue du Faubourg Saint Antoine, 75011 Paris, France

 

    contact@adoc-tm.ca      |   +1 514 430-0939 | 5333 avenue Casgrain, #102 Montréal (Québec) H2T 1X3

Nos CGU / Informatique et liberté / Processus de Recrutement / Mentions légales 

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Noir Icône YouTube

Innovation & Etudes

Docteur mais pas chercheur

Cette recherche vise à identifier, dans le cadre de la formation doctorale suivie d’une seconde expérience de recherche, quelles compétences acquises sont mises en œuvre lorsque le docteur occupe ensuite une activité professionnelle éloignée de la recherche.

Une approche exploratoire qualitative par récits de vie auprès de dix docteurs exerçant une activité professionnelle en dehors des métiers et du secteur de la recherche a permis de mettre en évidence les compétences scientifiques et transversales acquises et encore mobilisées aujourd’hui ainsi que les usages qui en sont faits .

 

Il en ressort que les docteurs éloignés de la recherche gardent une posture de chercheur par la mobilisation de compétences liées aux activités de recherche mais que ces mêmes compétences sont détournées de leur finalité première (qui est la recherche). Cette stratégie qui est le plus souvent involontaire apporte aux docteurs qui ne sont pas chercheurs une plus-value non négligeable au sein de leur organisation

Publication :

Docteur mais pas chercheur : quels usages et représentations des compétences scientifiques et transversales ?

Elodie Chevalier, Bathélémy Durette, Amandine Bugnicourt (2016) in TransFormations-Recherches en éducation et formation des adultes.