Interdisciplinary PhD Lab

Untitled design (2).png
LID-Logo-WEB_Horizontal-Couleurs_EN.png

Creating an Interdisciplinary PhD Lab, WHY?

The doctorate is the highest university degree in France and internationally, certifying both a very high level of training and professional research experience. Over the last ten years, the doctorate has become increasingly considered by the socio-economic world. Even if it was historically seen solely as a training for research careers through research, it now opens up numerous career opportunities in the academic and business sectors. These recent developments highlight the strong challenges in terms of doctoral training and the necessary transformation of the doctorate into a real research object in its own rights.


Faced with these challenges, Adoc Talent Management founded the first Interdisciplinary Laboratory on the Doctorate, the IPL, to study the doctorate, its ecosystem, uses, and purposes. Focused on collaborative research, the IPL is surrounded by public, private and associative partners involved in these issues. It will communicate widely on its studies and results via scientific articles and public communications so that its data can be helpful to the most significant number of actors.


Finally, the IPL aims to understand the place of the doctoral degree within its ecosystem and society by anticipating its evolution in terms of training and professional preparation, thus allowing to accompany doctoral students and doctors in the valorisation of their competences and their career development.

The doctorate as a Research Object

Copy of Copy of Unnamed Design.png

By bringing together different disciplines, the IPL and its partners will shed a new light on the various dimensions of the doctorate. The aim is to study what the doctorate is today, in terms of training and professional experience, and what it may be in the future. It is also about understanding and measuring its personal and societal impacts.

Examples of current projects

Untitled design (12).png

Rethinking the doctorate in light of ethics.


How can unity be achieved in research, in the midst of its plurality? What specific rules, together with evaluation mechanisms and discussion forums, would make it possible to ensure the ethical character and integrity of research and the doctorate? Thinking about and renewing the moral dimensions of the doctorate requires us to question ourselves and to be open to the process of questioning our actions. Such a reflection allows us to put things tangibly:


- Research ethics invites us to question the profession of PhD and the doctorate through reflective work.
- Scientific integrity invites us to engage in an inclusive and normative approach directed towards PhDs.
-On the other hand, social responsibility calls for a responsible and political approach oriented towards society.


Research ethics encourages a collective intelligence approach around the doctorate, making it possible to compose knowledge and perspectives. One of the objectives will be to question the relationship to ethics of doctors and their ecosystem, aiming, in the long term, at a paradigm shift in the way we see the doctorate and being a doctor. These new perceptions will favor their societal insertion and their professional career.

Untitled design (13).png

Doctors' responses to professional expectations and demands

 

Not everyone reacts in the same way to the same demands. For example, being asked to manage a project or meet a deadline can be exciting for some, but frightening for others. These reactions depend in particular on how we perceive our ability to meet the demand or not. However, a doctorate develops many skills that should enable doctors to react better when faced with professional needs, resulting in less stress and more motivation.

The problem is that PhDs sometimes have difficulty perceiving their skills and are frequently affected by imposter syndrome.

Therefore, the objective of this project is to examine precisely how doctors respond to professional demands and the role that this perception of competence can play. This will make it possible, in particular, to enhance the doctorate's value and advise training organizations.

Development of the IPL

fleche photo.png
IPL creation
Events, reporting of results

Reflection, definition and Identification of themes

National and International
Collaborations
New Research Projects
LID-Logo-WEB_Vertical-Couleurs_EN.png

Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire sur le Doctorat

Untitled design (2).png

Créer un Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire sur le Doctorat, POURQUOI ?

Le doctorat est le plus haut grade universitaire en France et à l’international, certifiant à la fois une formation de très haut niveau et une expérience professionnelle de recherche. Depuis une dizaine d’années, le doctorat devient de plus en plus considéré par le monde socio-économique et, même s’il forme historiquement aux métiers de la Recherche par la Recherche, il ouvre maintenant à de nombreuses opportunités de carrières aussi bien dans le milieu universitaire que dans celui de l’entreprise. Ces récentes évolutions mettent en lumière de forts enjeux en terme de formation doctorale, ainsi que la transformation nécessaire du doctorat qui devient un véritable objet d’étude pour la Recherche.

 

Face à ces enjeux, Adoc Talent Management fonde le premier Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire sur le Doctorat, le LID, visant à étudier le doctorat, son écosystème, ses usages et ses finalités. Tourné vers la recherche collaborative, le LID s’entoure de partenaires publics, privés et associatifs impliqués par ces enjeux. Il communiquera largement sur ses études et résultats, via des articles scientifiques et des communications publiques, afin que ses données puissent être utiles au plus grand nombre et puissent aider les prises de décision des acteurs impliqués.

 

Finalement, le LID vise à comprendre la place du diplôme de Doctorat au sein de son écosystème et de la société en anticipant ses évolutions en termes de formation et de professionnalisation, permettant ainsi d’accompagner les doctorants et docteurs dans la valorisation de leurs compétences et leur poursuite de carrière.

Etudier le Doctorat, COMMENT ?

Copy of Unnamed Design (2).png

En croisant les regards de différentes disciplines, le LID permet un éclairage sur les différentes dimensions qui constituent le doctorat. Il s’agit à la fois d’étudier ce qu’est le doctorat actuellement, en termes de formation et d’expérience professionnelle, que ce qu’il peut être à l’avenir. Il s’agit aussi de comprendre et de mesurer ses impacts individuels et sociétaux.

Exemples de projets en cours

Untitled design (12).png

Repenser le doctorat à la lumière de l’éthique.

 

Comment construire de l’unité dans la recherche au coeur de sa pluralité ? Quelles règles spécifiques, assorties de dispositifs d’évaluations et de lieux de discussions permettraient de s’assurer du caractère éthique et intègre de la recherche et du doctorat ? Penser et renouveler les enjeux éthiques du doctorat nécessite de s’interroger et de s’ouvrir à la démarche du questionnement de nos actions. Une telle réflexion permet alors de poser factuellement les choses :

 

- L'éthique de la recherche invite à questionner le métier de docteur et le doctorat par un travail réflexif ;

- L'intégrité scientifique invite à engager une démarche inclusive et normative orientée vers les docteurs ;

- La responsabilité sociale, quant à elle, invite à mener une démarche responsable et politique, orientée vers la société.

 

L’éthique de la recherche favorise une démarche d’intelligence collective autour du doctorat, rendant possible la composition des savoirs et des perspectives. Un des objectifs sera d’interroger le rapport à l’éthique des docteurs et de leur écosystème visant, à terme, un changement de paradigme quant à la manière de voir le doctorat et d’être docteur. Ces nouvelles perceptions favoriseront leur insertion sociétale et leur parcours professionnel.

Untitled design (13).png

Réponses des docteurs aux attentes et demandes professionnelles

 

Tout le monde ne réagit pas pareil face à une même demande. Par exemple, se retrouver à devoir gérer un projet ou à respecter une deadline peut être stimulant pour certains mais effrayant pour d’autres. Ces réactions dépendent notamment des perceptions que nous avons de notre capacité à répondre ou non à la demande. Or, le doctorat développe de nombreuses compétences qui devraient permettre aux docteurs de mieux réagir lorsqu’ils sont face à des demandes professionnelles, ce qui devrait notamment se traduire par moins de stress et plus de motivation.

 

Problème : les docteurs ont parfois du mal à percevoir leurs compétences et sont fréquemment affectés par le syndrome de l’imposteur.

 

L’objectif de ce projet est donc d’examiner précisément les façons dont les docteurs répondent à des demandes professionnelles et le rôle que peut jouer cette perception de compétences. Ceci permettra notamment de valoriser les apports du doctorat et de conseiller les organismes de formation.

Plan de vol

fleche photo.png
Création du LID
Évènements communication
des résultats

Réflexion, définition et

Identifications des thématiques

Collaborations nationales
et Internationales
Nouveaux projets de Recherche